Skip to content

Hanging from the rim of the chalice

January 4, 2011

Some days, I am the little engine that can (yeah, I know, I said little).  Then other days the tasks & goals are monumental, and I feel as I am hanging from the rim of the chalice.  And just when my fingers cramp up for me to fall – I remember: by the mystery of water mingling with wine in this chalice, I am splashed and so come to divinitatis consortes – share in the divinity – of Christ, who humbled himself to share in my weak humanity, and thus ‘I can do all things in him who strengthens me’ (Phil 4:13).

And so last night’s thoughts led me to a line in my evening lecture, reminding me of the Baltimore Catechism – Why did God make me?  To know him, to love him, and to serve him in this world, in order to be happy with him forever in heaven.  Then, the coincidence of this morning’s reflection I read: “Faith is the key that unlocks the door to all our truest desires; but faith is not just praying with more strength or willpower.  Mountain-moving faith is the result of a long and loving relationship with our God, to the point of sharing in the trust that exists between the Father and Son.”

I am grateful for the armful of friends – with the strength of battalions – and by having a caring relationship with them, they buoy me up in my endeavors to serve better.  Think I can?  I know I can!

With Faith,

Papa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

