Skip to content

Letter from a Birmingham Jail

January 17, 2011

16 April 1963

My Dear Fellow Clergymen:
While confined here in the Birmingham city jail, I came across your recent statement calling my present activities “unwise and untimely.” Seldom do I pause to answer criticism of my work and ideas. If I sought to answer all the criticisms that cross my desk, my secretaries would have little time for anything other than such correspondence in the course of the day, and I would have no time for constructive work. But since I feel that you are men of genuine good will and that your criticisms are sincerely set forth, I want to try to answer your statement in what I hope will be patient and reasonable terms.

In the interest of column space, please click here for the rest of the Letter, it is a good and worthwhile  read: http://www.mlkonline.net/jail.html

And I will close out as Martin did this letter:

Yours for the cause of Peace and Brotherhood,

Papa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

