Skip to content

Pope Benedict XVI’s prayer intentions for April ’11

April 2, 2011
There exists today the clear need for a new evangelization.  There is the need for a proclamation of the Gospel capable of accompanying man on his pilgrim way, capable of walking alongside the younger generation. – Pope John Paul II, Crossing the Threshold of Hope.

Venerable Pope John Paul II, died on this day, April 2, 2005.  It seems so long ago – like yesterday.  His New Evangelization is what Pope Benedict XVI’s Intentions cover this month.  Thanks to the Apostleship of Prayer for bringing us the Holy Father’s Intentions. – mw:

General Intention
  
Evangelizing the New Generations.  That through its compelling preaching of the Gospel, the Church may give young people new reasons for life and hope.

Reflection: 
How do we offer authentic Christian spirituality to the young people in our families and communities?

Reading:
While Peter was still speaking, the holy Spirit fell upon all who were listening to the word.  (Acts 10:44)

 

 

Mission Intention
  
Missionary Expansion.  That by proclamation of the Gospel and the witness of their lives, missionaries may bring Christ to those who do not yet know him.

Reflection:
As you pray for missionaries everywhere, in what way can you speak and live the Gospel of Jesus Christ?
 
Reading:  
So whoever is in Christ is a new creation: the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come. And all this is from God, who has reconciled us to himself through Christ and given us the ministry of reconciliation. (2 Corinthians 5:17-18)

(Reflections and Scripture from the Apostleship of Prayer)

  

Prayer of the Month

This month’s prayer is from United States Conference of Catholic Bishops:

Where can I go when the night is dark and I stumble along the way? I will go up to the house of the Lord, my God, to the God who gives joy to my youth.

Where can I go when my heart is full, overflowing with thanks and praise? I will go up to the house of the Lord, my God, to the God who gives joy to my youth.

Where can I go to give myself in return for all I’ve received? I will go up to the house of the Lord, my God, to the God who gives joy to my youth.  

How do we handle this responsibility? By allowing the Gospel to work in, through, and with us.  To give the youth reason to hope – and not lose it ourselves!  To recover, like Peter:

Of what should we not be afraid?  We should not fear the truth about ourselves.  One day Peter became aware of this and with particular energy he said to Jesus: “depart from me, Lord, for I am a sinful man (Lk 5:8).  Peter was not the only one who was aware of this truth.  Every man has learned it.  Every successor to Peter has learned it.  I learned it very well.  Every one of us is indebted to Peter for what he said on that day… Christ answered him: “Do not be afraid; from now on you will be catching men” (Lk 5:10). – Pope John Paul II

I.X.

Papa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

