Skip to content

My Resolutions for 2013

December 31, 2012

“But to those who did accept him he gave power to become children of God.” – John 1:12

Work on these simple acts every chance I get! Mr. Randy Hain wrote this out in an article for The Integrated Catholic Life. It is good stuff for everyone:

  • Do I make the Sign of the Cross and say a blessing over all my meals, regardless of my companions?
  • Over the last few weeks, did I wish people a Blessed Advent and Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays/Seasons Greetings?
  • Can people clearly see Christ at work in me?
  • Do I reflect my Christ-inspired joy to others?
  • Am I willing to be unpopular for taking stands in defense of Christ’s teachings?
  • Do I share the beauty and truth of my Catholic faith with others?
  • Am I a good steward of my time, talent and treasure?
  • Do I help the less fortunate with love and compassion?
  • Do I set a good example for others in how I practice my Catholic faith?
  •  Do I truly place Christ first in all things or is He merely contending for a piece of my time each day?

I need to work on these!

Start With Me: The best way to acknowledge Christ is to start with my own soul’s conversion.  I have to begin with my own surrender and faith journey before I can ever positively influence others.

Find My Voice: I can’t always let others carry on the good fight.  I am for choice; but I am for different choices like adoption, raising the child or maybe old fashioned celibacy before marriage.

Act with More Love: My family, friends, colleagues and the needy of our community deserve and require all the selfless, charitable love I can offer.

Pray More/Listen More: I always know how much better I feel after I pray.  I struggle to be consistent.  I need to stop making prayer conform to my day and make my day conform to my prayer life.

And I add –

Practice at Every Chance: Charity, humility, and self-denial

Jesus, I welcome your works in the coming year. I want this year to be a time of growth in my journey with you.

Seven is the Perfect Number

The 7th Day of Christmas: Being as this is the last day of the year, time for resolutions, and that I don’t find swans very friendly – swimming or otherwise – I will concentrate on some important things that the Church teaches us like:

Corporal Works of Mercy: Feeding the hungry, giving drink to the thirsty, clothing the naked, sheltering the homeless, visiting the sick, visiting the imprisoned, and burying the dead.

Spiritual Works of Mercy: Counseling the doubtful, instructing the ignorant, admonishing sinners, comforting the afflicted, forgiving offenses, bearing wrongs patiently, and praying for the living and the dead.

Embrace, Understand, Explain, and Defend the Sacraments:

  1. Baptism, by which we are born into the new life of Christ
  2. Confirmation, by which we are more perfectly bound to the Church and enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit
  3. The Holy Eucharist, by which Christ associated his Church and all her members with the sacrifice of the cross
  4. Reconciliation or Penance, by which sins after Baptism are forgiven
  5. Anointing of the Sick, by which a special grace is conferred during grave illness or old age
  6. Holy Orders, by which the task of serving in the name and in the Person of Christ is conferred
  7. Matrimony, by which a man and a woman form with each other an intimate communion of life and love

Practice Devotions during the Week:

  1. Sunday, The Blessed Trinity – attend Mass and if possible, receive Communion. Cultivate in your heart a great zeal for one and triune God.
  2. Monday, The Souls in Purgatory – pray for the souls of your relatives, friends, and Godparents.
  3. Tuesday, Guardian Angels – pray often to your Guardian Angel asking for help
  4. Wednesday, Saint Joseph – pray to St. Joseph so that you may obtain a good and holy death
  5. Thursday, The Holy Eucharist – throughout the day say many Spiritual Communions. Make a visit to the Blessed Sacrament
  6. Friday, The Passion and Death of our Lord Jesus Christ – using the Way of the Cross, meditate on the Passion and Death of Our Lord
  7. Saturday, The Blessed Virgin Mary – pray the Rosary or practice another Marian devotion

Good Habits: The Cardinal & Theological Virtues: Prudence, Justice, Fortitude, and Temperance; Faith, Hope, and Charity.

Receive the Gifts of the Holy Spirit: Wisdom, Understanding, Counsel, Fortitude, Knowledge, Piety, and Fear of the Lord

One of the hardest lessons I have learned – and the most liberating – is this.  I don’t have to like everyone.  Yeah, I said it.  Let’s face it, there are some difficult people out there.  I am even sure, to some, that would include me.  But that’s ok, you see, because we don’t have to like everyone.  Everyone is different from us, unique in every way.  But we do have to love everyone.  Every parent, every relative, every friend and neighbor, every stranger, and, yes, every enemy.  St. Thomas Aquinas says, love is willing the good of the other as other.  So we do.  We will the good of the other as other, then do something about it!  So we fight the Seven Deadly Sins with Seven Lively Virtues.  Some of you may have heard Fr. Robert Barron, S.J. speak on this; it bears repeating, and even better – practicing:

My resolution is to fight pride, envy, anger, sloth, greed, gluttony, and lust with humility, admiration, forgiveness, zeal, generosity, asceticism, and chastity.

I wish you all the very best blessings for the new year!

Papa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

