Skip to content

Dandelions & Mud Puddles

October 10, 2014

I thought this was such a poignant thing to hear; such an awesome reminder and benchmark for all parents – young or old – m

 

Dandelions and Mud Puddles, as recounted by Matthew Kelly:

 

When I look at a patch of dandelions, I see a bunch of weeds that are going to take over my garden.

But my kids, they see flowers for mum, and blowing white fluff you could wish upon.

 

When I look at an old drunk and he smiles at me, I see a smelly, dirty person who probably wants money – so I look away.

But my kids, they see someone smiling at them.  So they smile back.

 

When I hear music I love, I know I can’t carry a tune and I don’t have much rhythm, so I sit – self-consciously – and I listen.

My kids?  They feel the beat, and they move to it.  They sing out the words as loud as they can, and, if they don’t know the words, they make up their own.

 

When I feel the wind in my face, I feel it messing up my hair and pulling me back when I walk.

But my kids, they close their eyes, they spread their arms and they fly with it ’til theyfall on the ground laughing.

 

When I pray, I say thee and thou, and grant me this and give me that.

My kids?  They say, “Hi God.  Thanks for my toys, and thanks for my friends, and please keep the bad dreams away tonight.  And sorry God, I don’t want to go to Heaven yet – I would miss my mummy and my daddy.”

 

When I see a mud puddle, I step around it.  I see muddy shoes and dirty carpets.

My kids, they sit in it.  They see dams to build, and rivers to cross, and worms to play with.

 

I wonder: do you think God gives us children so that we can teach them?  Or do you think God gives us children so they can teach us?

 

 

Hold your kids tight.  Let’s help others concentrate on one less horrible news story this day.

 

Papa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

