Skip to content

The Trifecta: Ask, Seek, and Knock

October 13, 2014

October 9, 2014: Twenty-seventh Thursday in Ordinary Time. 

Galatians 3:1-5.  Did you receive the Spirit from works of the law, or from faith in what you heard?.

Luke 11:5-13. Ask and you will receive.

 

Gospel Reflection:

Who here today, does not know there is an election in one month? In all the hours of television ads, has anyone heard any solutions?  Or is all we ever hear is who is to blame for it all!?

Today in our Nation’s capital, we are regaled by stories of corruption, gridlock, posturing, and scandal – more than a little disheartening. Unprecedented closures, intimidations, partisan threats, walkouts and name calling.  Portents of doom and gloom.  This time last year, I went to work every day – for an I.O.U..  Furlough, they called it.  Almost hard to believe what is going on, isn’t it?  But this is what happens when we put our faith in Man.

G.K. Chesterton writes, “In the best Utopia, I must be prepared for the moral fall of any man in any position at any moment; especially for my fall from my position at this moment.”(Chesterton, Orthodoxy).  Judgment.

The Lord himself tells us in his Gospel, be persistent! “Ask and you shall receive; seek and you shall find; knock and the door will be opened.”  Yesterday he taught us how to pray, the Lord’s Prayer.  It is a good prayer!  When I was being taught how to instruct a class, back in my Navy days, we were told to ‘touch all the bases – you can’t score unless you touch all the bases.  Well, the Pater Noster touches all the bases of the good Christian petition!  Today Jesus emphatically teaches, you just got to ask!  You just got to seek.  You just got to knock.  You have to want the salvation he offers. And you have to realize Jesus isn’t advocating what to pray for, but only how to pray.

And remember, God answers all prayers.  Sometimes, because He loves us, the answer is, “No!”

God answers all prayers.  Sometimes, the answer is, “No!”

I am disappointed by the antics of those who represent me in our government. But let it serve to remind: When people ask me how I vote, I tell them I vote Catholic.  I don’t concern myself with Blue State or Red State, Democrat or Republican.  Or this fancy orator or that next one that comes along.  I vote my faith – it’s much more reliable.  That way I can participate in the process, embrace social justice, expect dignity from conception to natural death, demand fiscal responsibility, and absolutely not budge in ideals of moral integrity.  It is a simpler path for me to follow – but it is nowhere near perfect.  Especially in this day and age, when it seems that those politicians who profess having faith will step out of the clarity of the Light, and into the shadows of the gray.

So what are we to do?  All we can do is decide – being fully informed – what is the line in the sand?  What is absolutely against my moral compass?  Then, we have to do the best that we can.  But vote.  It is our responsibility as responsible citizenry.  After that – for sanity’s sake – we have to let it go.  Render unto Caesar what is Caesar’s.

Finally, this past Sunday was Respect Life Sunday. A day to count our blessings and be thankful, and a day to help others count theirs, and point out where true dignity lies – especially as we listen to the story of Brittany Maynard, who has a brain tumor, and moved to Oregon to die, on what she calls, “I am not suicidal,” she wrote for CNN. “If I were, I would have consumed that medication long ago. I do not want to die. But I am dying. And I want to die on my own terms.” – which is 2 days after her husband’s birthday.  Today, as we receive the Bread of Angels, as we partake in the Blessed Sacrament, pray the Communion Antiphon from Lamentations in your thoughts and heart, “The Lord is good to those who hope in him, to the soul that seeks him.” Pray that Brittany sees the dignity of the path God has chosen for her to teach others.  And grant her and all her loved ones, prayerfully, the peace and answers that only God Himself can answer.

 

Peace,

Papa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

