Skip to content

Measure up

January 30, 2015

Yesterday, we heard in the Gospel why it is that the Lord is teaching in parables.  “The mystery of the Kingdom of God has been granted to you.  But to those outside everything comes in parables, so that they may look and see but not perceive, and hear and listen but not understand, in order that they may not be converted and be forgiven” (Mk 4:11, 12).  Conversion must be honest, and for those with faith the parable is interpreted and the mystery partially revealed.

Before Mark continues with the Parables of the Seed and of the Mustard Seed, he reminds you of this.  Is a lamp brought in to be put under a bushel basket (Mk 4:21)?  No, but like a covered lamp, the truth will be concealed from outsiders, but the truth will ultimately come out.  Likewise, the measure you give will be the measure you receive (Mk 4:24).  Take care to listen attentively to God’s Word and you shall be rewarded equal to your effort.

the measure you give will be the measure you receive

I have sponsored several Inquirers into RCIA.  And it never fails – the consensus upon hearing them, is “I don’t get it!”  As did I and I am sure there are many here that can relate to this.  It doesn’t help that we are two-thousand years removed from the original language, but we have scholarly help in commentaries.  If you do not have a good commentary I highly recommend investing in one!

“I don’t get it,” rang out!  But, with faith, as the Word of God built layer upon layer of faith, eventually they – WE – were led to a place of understanding.  Like today, Jesus is looking on drawing his disciples in to explain the mystery, who will in turn proclaim the Good News – euaggelion – to others drawn in by faith, as we will eventually – hopefully – draw others in faith as well.  It is always the relationship between the believer and Jesus Christ that is the matter here.  Always.

As a new Christian I thought, “This will be a piece of cake: 52 Sundays, 8 holy days, how hard can it be? Easy!  But it is not easy.  There is much to do.  I do not come up here easily; I did not come up here because I like the sound of my own voice.  Believe me, I know better.  I come up here because I believe in the salvation found in Christ Jesus and I do the best I can to bring His Word to others so that as many of my friends, family, community, enemies, may be saved, too.  You can, too

In Hebrews, we heard, “We must consider how to rouse one another to love and good works.”  THIS is the secret.  Once we are in relationship with Christ, once the mysteries are revealed, we are not supposed to keep it to ourselves.  That there, brothers and sisters is the whole challenge of Christianity.  Come.  Follow me.  Repent.  Go.  Announce.  Truth.  Once the light is placed on the lampstand it is so, so, easy to see.

 

Peace,

Papa

 

Readings for January 29, 2015; Third Thursday of Ordinary Time

First Reading: Heb10:19-25.  Let us hold to our confession that gives us hope and consider how to raise one another to love.

Responsorial Psalm: Ps 24:cf. 6) – R.  Lord, this is the people that longs to see your face.

Gospel Reading: Mark 4:21-25.  A lamp is to be placed on a lampstand.  The measure with which you measure will be measured out to you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

